Contact Us    


Namibia announces squad for ICC Africa U19 CWCQ

Sun, Jul 25, 2010 4:10 PM

Cricket Namibia named its squad for the upcoming ICC Africa U19 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers (CWCQ) to be played in Windhoek from 29 August to 5 September 2010.

The eight-team event, hosted by Namibia, will also see Botswana, Kenya, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and the winner from ICC Africa U19 Division 2 Championships next week, competing for the two qualifying spots that will take it to ICC U19 CWCQ in 2011.

Speaking on the squad selection, Cricket Namibia Chief Executive Officer, Laurie Pieters, said on Namibia Sport: "We have announced a 16-man team which includes Wian van Vuuren and Gerhard Lotter who have previously represented the country at the senior level."

"The Namibian team has already started training for the tournament three weeks ago. The players train four times a day and I am sure the team will be ready by the time we start the qualifiers," he added.

"We will go into the tournament optimistic and I know we will end in the top two and go to the next level. We have a very good bowling attack, although there is some concern in the batting department, but the coaching staff is working on it," he continued.

Pieters is optimistic of the impact of hosting the tournament on the growth of cricket in the country. He said: "The tournament will have a huge impact on development cricket in Namibia. Other young players will watch the matches and it will encourage more youngsters to come and play cricket and we will have a bigger pool of cricket players in the country."

The team is being coached by senior national Johan Rudolph and managed by Norbert Manyande. The tournament consists of 50-over matches played in a round-robin basis at United and Wanderers cricket fields.

The country finished third in the 2008 event in Zambia behind Sierra Leone and Uganda, missing an opportunity to play in the ICC U19 CWCQ 2009 in Canada. It was a strong contender to qualify in the event after defeating both Uganda (by 48 runs D/L method) and Sierra Leone (by 48 runs). However, a match abandoned due to bad weather against Kenya denied it the required points to progress in the event.

The full squad is as follows: Justin Baard, Stephan Baard, Luke Bolton, Kobus Brand, Christopher Coombe, André Engelbrecht, Gerhard Erasmus, Shalako Groenewald, Zhivago Groenewald, Gerhard Lötter, Pelham Myburgh, Colin Schoombee, Wian van Vuuren and Bredell Wessels.

Reserves are Jasper Engelbrecht and Tangeni Lungameni.

live matches

  • Live Scores
  • Results
  • Upcoming Matches

 No international matches live at the moment.
 Click here for upcoming matches

ICC Members

ICC Regions


Africa Cricket Association
International Cricket Council

Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium
Harpur Avenue
Benoni, South Africa.
Tel: + 27 11 845 4881
Fax: + 27 11 845 4885