Contact Us    


Loubser, van Niekerk star in South Africa's title triumph

Tue, Dec 21, 2010 8:34 PM

Loubser, van Niekerk star in South Africa's title triumph

Sunette Loubser spun South Africa to title triumph
South Africa beat Zimbabwe in the final of the Africa ICC Women's World Cup Qualifying Tournament on Sunday by a comprehensive 281 runs at Nairobi to win the title. Uganda finished third in the tournament beating hosts Kenya by 12 runs in a play-off match.

Opting to bat first, South Africa made a massive 314 for four in its 50 overs. Openers Shandre Fritz (82: 79b, 11x4) and leg-spinning all-rounder Dane van Niekerk (132: 145b, 8x4) shared an impressive opening stand of 155. Skipper Cri-Zelda Brits (35) and Mignon du Preez (38) made vital contributions.

Zimbabwe's chase never really took off as it was bowled out for a paltry 33 in 20 overs. Off-spinner Sunette Loubser picked up 5-7 in her seven overs to script a famous win for South Africa.

On the other hand, Uganda wicket-keeper Christine Aryemo top-scored with 30 in her team total of 93 in 42.3 overs. For the home team medium-pacer Belinda Maska (3-17) was the best bowler on view.

Kenya was comfortably placed at 41 for two but suffered a middle-order collapse as it was bowled out for 81 in 48.5 overs. Justine Musubika (3-28) and Carol Namugenyi (3-17) struck at regular intervals to earn a superb win for Uganda.

live matches

  • Live Scores
  • Results
  • Upcoming Matches

 No international matches live at the moment.
 Click here for upcoming matches

ICC Members

ICC Regions


Africa Cricket Association
International Cricket Council

Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium
Harpur Avenue
Benoni, South Africa.
Tel: + 27 11 845 4881
Fax: + 27 11 845 4885