Contact Us    


Referee and umpiring appointments for ICC-Africa T20 Div 2 announced

Tue, May 10, 2011 1:49 PM

The ICC Africa regional office has announced the umpire allocations for the ICC Africa T20 Div 2 tournament to be held in Johannesburg, South Africa. This tournament is scheduled to commence on Saturday, 14 May 2011.

Countries competing in the Africa division two include: Division 3 Qualifiers Rwanda, Tanzania, Botswana, Nigeria, Ghana, Swaziland, Sierra Leone, Mozambique and Malawi.

Subhash Modi has been appointed as the ICC Africa regional tournament referee. Modi recently underwent intensive training at the Pepsi ICC WCL Division 7 tournament in Gaborone, Botswana. Modi will lead the ICC Africa B panel umpires at this tournament.

The selection of umpires was as a direct result of the attendance and evaluation at the ICC Africa regional umpires forum. They were evaluated during live match umpiring as well as a range of written examinations.

ICC Africa Regional Development Manager Cassim Suliman said: "It is exciting for the ICC Africa regional office to announce these names. It is correct that these umpires will be the first of the 2011 umpiring panels to be allocated fixtures. It is an indication of the umpire pathway in action. These umpires were nominated by their respective countries. They have also undergone intensive training session at the recent umpires forum. It is hoped that these umpires will develop into Africa B and eventually Africa A panel umpires, there is a possibility of them eventually becoming associate and affiliate panel umpires. We would like to take this opportunity to wish them well at this very important tournament."

Selected umpires: Venkata Angara (Botswana), Baker Elonge (Uganda), Issac Oyieko (Kenya), Deepak Madangarli (Botswana), Hozaiph Bhalloo (Tanzania), Tariq Mukhtar (Mozambique), Emmanual Byiringiro (Rwanda), Lucy Mayunga (Tanzania).

live matches

  • Live Scores
  • Results
  • Upcoming Matches

 No international matches live at the moment.
 Click here for upcoming matches

ICC Members

ICC Regions


Africa Cricket Association
International Cricket Council

Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium
Harpur Avenue
Benoni, South Africa.
Tel: + 27 11 845 4881
Fax: + 27 11 845 4885