Contact Us    


Namibia continues its winning ways

Wed, Jul 13, 2011 8:41 PM

Namibia continues its winning ways
Craig Williams played key roles in his side's wins
Namibia continued its dominant performance in the ICC Africa Division 1 Twenty20 tournament with two more wins on Wednesday in Kampala.

A day after it booked its place in the global qualifiers for ICC World Twenty20 2012, Namibia beat Kenya by 169 runs and also beat Ghana comprehensively by 177 runs.

Against Kenya at the Lugogo Cricket Oval, Namibia posted 262 for 1 in 20 overs. Louis van der Westhuizen (159 not out: 70b, 7x4, 16x6) and skipper Craig Williams (42), alongwith Sarel Burger's unbeaten 53 off 30 balls with four boundaries and a six were the best performers.

In its reply, Kenya's chase never took off as it lost wickets at regular intervals. Louis van der Westhuizen (2-14) and Helao Nafidi Ya France (3-14) shared the wickets around.

Later in the day again at Lugogo Cricket Oval, Namibia batted first again, this time against Ghana. Craig Williams (86: 33b, 7x4, 6x4) shared a 142 run stand with Sarel Burger (82: 52b, 8x4, 3x6) to help a challenging total of 237 for 6 in its 20 overs.

Ghana skipper Peter Ananya (2-31) was the best bowler on view for his side.

Ghana in reply was shot out for 77 in 17.3 overs. Sarel Burger's spell of 5-10 and Louis van der Westhuizen (3-16) were the chief wicket-takers for Namibia.

At the Kyambogo Cricket Ground, Kenya lost to Nigeria by a narrow three-wicket margin. Opener Duncan Allan's 48 was the cornerstone of Kenya's modest total of 107 off 19.3 overs. Nigeria off-spinner Olalekan Awolowo picked up 5-14.

In its chase, Nigeria lost wickets at regular intervals but Kunle Adegbola (36) guided the side to a tense win in the last over to register a win in 19.5 overs. Nigeria ended at 111 for 7. Vinit Shikhotra (2-8) and Siddhant Taneja (2-20) shared the wickets around for Kenya.

Nigeria, however lost a narrow game to Uganda by three wickets at Kyambogo Cricket Ground. Batting first, Nigeria posted 112 for 8 in its 20 overs. Ademola Onikoyi (42) was the top-scorer for Nigeria.

Charles Waiswa (3-27) and Davis Arinaitwe (2-15) were the key wicket-takers for Uganda.

In its reply, Uganda lost wickets at regular intervals but chased down the target in 18.2 overs to end at 115 for 7.

Adegbola's spell of 2-25 was the best bowler on view for Nigeria.

live matches

  • Live Scores
  • Results
  • Upcoming Matches

 No international matches live at the moment.
 Click here for upcoming matches

ICC Members

ICC Regions


Africa Cricket Association
International Cricket Council

Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium
Harpur Avenue
Benoni, South Africa.
Tel: + 27 11 845 4881
Fax: + 27 11 845 4885