Contact Us    


Mountaineers take Zimbabwe T20 crown

Sun, Dec 4, 2011 9:32 PM

Mountaineers take Zimbabwe T20 crown
Phil Mustard
Mountaineers defeated Eagles by 27 runs to take the Stanbic 20 Series Final at Harare Sports Club on Sunday.

The victorious side's bowling attack restricted a potentially destructive Eagles line-up to just 115 in pursuit of what appeared like a very chaseable 143.

Eagles had earlier picked up wickets at regular intervals to stop the Mountaineers from posting a huge total, closing their 20 overs on 142-6.

Opener Phil Mustard's (56 off 31 balls) dismissal in the 11th over was pivotal as the left-hander seemed on course for a century at that point.

That was the first of two wickets for Rory Hamilton-Brown who picked up 2-14 from three overs.

Chris Harris (34 not out) and Shingi Masakadza (23 not out) then added 37 for the seventh-wicket to give some respectability to the Mountaineers' total at 142-6.

The Eagles suffered a double-blow early on in their chase when they lost Ryan ten Doeschate – who had scored a century the previous day in the qualifying final – and Peter Trego with the score on six.

Hamilton-Brown also fell cheaply but then Stuart Matsikenyeri and Forster Mutizwa put on 44 for the fourth wicket.

The former was then run out by Tendai Chatara but the match remained in the balance for as long as Mutizwa remained.

Prosper Utseya then dismissed the right-hander as four wickets fell in the space of seven runs to leave the Eagles on 88-7.

With Dirk Nannes (2-17) still having two overs left to bowl, after conceding just five runs in his opening two-over spell, the game was up.

Nathan Waller (19 off five balls) produced a brief flurry to offer the Eagles some hope but he and Tinotenda Mutombodzi fell off successive balls to close the innings with 11 balls to spare.

Masakadza was the most prolific wicket-taker with 3-21 but Harris was named man-of-the-match for his 2-30 and 34 not out.

live matches

  • Live Scores
  • Results
  • Upcoming Matches

 No international matches live at the moment.
 Click here for upcoming matches

ICC Members

ICC Regions


Africa Cricket Association
International Cricket Council

Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium
Harpur Avenue
Benoni, South Africa.
Tel: + 27 11 845 4881
Fax: + 27 11 845 4885