Contact Us    


ICC Intercontinental Cup 2009 - 10 fixtures confirmed

ICC Media Release
Thu, Dec 10, 2009 7:29 PM

ICC Intercontinental Cup 2009 - 10 fixtures confirmed
The International Cricket Council today confirmed the remaining fixtures in its first-class tournament, the ICC Intercontinental Cup 2009-10, with everything leading towards next November's final, which will take place in the United Arab Emirates.

The next match to be played will start on 23 January between defending champion Ireland facing newcomer Afghanistan in a match to be played in Sri Lanka. Two days' later, second-placed Kenya will take on 2004 champion and current leader Scotland in a top-of-the-table clash.

Remaining fixtures for the second-tier ICC Intercontinental Shield have also been announced.

23-26 JanAfghanistan v Ireland, Sri Lanka
25-28 JanKenya v Scotland, Kenya
17-20 FebAfghanistan v Canada, UAE
17-20 FebKenya v Netherlands, Kenya
10-13 JunNetherlands v Scotland,Netherlands
11-14 AugScotland v Afghanistan,Scotland
11-14 AugIreland v Netherlands, Ireland
21-24 AugCanada v Zimbabwe XI, Canada
1-4 SepCanada v Ireland, Canada
1-4 SepNetherlands v Zimbabwe XI, Netherlands
2-5 OctKenya v Afghanistan, Kenya
6-9 OctZimbabwe XI v Ireland, Africa
13-16 Oct Zimbabwe XI v Scotland, Africa
25-29 Nov FINAL (five days), UAE

20-23 JanUAE v Uganda, UAE
2-5 AprNamibia v Bermuda, Namibia
5-8 JulBermuda v UAE, Bermuda
18-21 SepUganda v Namibia, Uganda
25-28 NovFINAL, UAE

The exact venues for these fixtures have not yet been finalised.

The latest points table for the tournament so far can be found at

There will be a total of US$250,000 in prize money for the Associate and Affiliate teams taking part in the ICC Intercontinental Cup with US$100,000 for the winners and US$40,000 for the runners-up.

Having previously been designed around a two-group, three-day format, the event then evolved into an eight-team, round-robin and truly global tournament featuring four-day cricket which gives those teams who do not play Test cricket the chance to experience the longer form of the game.

This year's format includes seven teams (Afghanistan, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands, Scotland and Zimbabwe XI), while the new competition, the ICC Intercontinental Shield, involves the four teams below that, namely Bermuda, Namibia, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates.

Scotland won the first ICC Intercontinental Cup in 2004, beating Canada in the final, while Ireland has been victorious in all three events since then, beating Kenya in the 2005 decider, Canada in the 2006-07 event and Namibia in 2007-08.

For more information go to:

live matches

  • Live Scores
  • Results
  • Upcoming Matches

 No international matches live at the moment.
 Click here for upcoming matches

ICC Members

ICC Regions


Africa Cricket Association
International Cricket Council

Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium
Harpur Avenue
Benoni, South Africa.
Tel: + 27 11 845 4881
Fax: + 27 11 845 4885